UEFA European Championship

UEFA European Championship


The UEFA European Championship is the main football competition of the region; held every four years starting with 1960. It takes place in the so called even-numbered year between World Cup tournaments. The fans often refer to the event as “Euro 2012” or whatever year it’s appropriate.

We owe the European Championship to France’s Henri Delaunay who came up with the idea in 1927, but unfortunately he never got to see his idea fulfilled. The idea was carried on by his son, who designed the trophy, which carries his name even today. Be sure to check out our blog before the next European Championship – we guarantee you will find the best European Championship tips and predictions here when the time is right! All you need to do is open a betting account via an agent and start to place these predictions.

In the beginning, there were 17 teams in the qualifying rounds, out of which four were competing in the finals, thus making the USSR the first winners in the history of the competition. The number of teams extended in 1980 and then some more in 1996, reaching out to include 16 teams; the tournament held in France in 2016 will include a record number of 24 teams. During the qualifying rounds, the teams are divided into 9 groups consisting of 5 or 6 teams and the first placed ones qualify together with the second-placed team that gained the most points during the group stage. The other eight teams in second place are paired for play-offs out of which four qualify for the final stage where they join the hosts.

France being elected to host European Championship

During the tournament, teams are divided into four groups and they have to play 3 games each, at the end of which the first two qualify to go further. The tournament held in Poland and Ukraine was the last one to feature only 16 teams, which should provide the best opportunity for the bookmakers such as bet365 to offer the best European Championship (Euro) odds for future competitions. Get an original bet365 account with a betting service and start placing your bets.

The winning team is awarded the Henri Delaunay trophy, a silver cup that weighs approximately 10 kg and is around 80 cm tall after the new improvements. It is usually given to the team for a period of four years until the next tournament. UEFA usually sets a date for when the trophy is to be returned to the European forum in a special ceremony usually held at the UEFA’s headquarters or in one of the cities that host the next tournament. Follow our Euro tips and win with sportsbetsblog.com!

In 2000, the UEFA recorded another first: the tournament was held by two different countries: the Netherlands and Belgium followed by Austria and Switzerland in 2008 and Poland with Ukraine in 2012. So far, the European Championships have been won by 9 different teams: Germany and Spain with three titles, France with two and USSR, Italy, Czechoslovakia, Netherlands, Denmark and Greece with just one title. In 2012, Spain became the first country to win two consecutive titles. It should be noted that the winner of the European Championship earns the right to participate in the following FIFA Confederations Cup, but it is not imperative that they do so.

Bet on Euro cup via best betting softwareBefore any championship speculations and Euro 2020 predictions are all over the place, be sure to come back to our blog for the best tips and predictions for on any game of the European Championship you set your eyes upon. This move of expanding the number of teams to take part in the tournament to 24 may be a very smart move in financial terms and it might provide us with the best football we’re going to see in years. A while ago an English journalist had a very unique answer to the question “what is a European Championship?” Without hesitation, he answered: “This is the World Cup, but without Brazil and Argentina.” Learn the most suitable bookie by checking the best Asian bookmakers’ reviews!

For what it’s worth, the European Championship provided its share of newsworthy facts, some of which might be known to the general public, while others are not:

  • The fastest goal so far was scored by Russia’s Dmitry Kirichenko in 2004 during his country’s match against Greece after 67 seconds.
  • The largest attendance number was recorded for a qualifier between England and Scotland in 1968, where a record number of 130,711 people came to support their favorite teams.
  • The most number of matches in a European Championship has been played by Germany. They have played 38 matches; Netherlands come second with 32 matches and Spain stand 3rd with 30 matches.
  • Spain won in 2012 by a margin of 4 goals. It is the largest edge in World cups and Euro cups.
  • The record for most clean sheets belongs to Edwin van der Saar from the Netherlands and Iker Casillas from Spain with 9 clean sheets.
  • Germany had the most individual goal scorers in one team during one tournament. In 2012 they scored with goals from Mario Gomez, Lukas Podolski, Marco Reus, Lars Bender, Philipp Lahm, Sami Khedira, Miroslav Klose and Mesut Özil.
  • The fastest hat trick record belongs to France’s Michel Platini, in the France vs. Yugoslavia game in 1984 where he scored three times in the time span of just 18 minutes.
  • France and Germany hold the streak for most consecutive successful attempts with 6 from 1992 till 2012.
  • Germany is the team with most finishes in the top four with 8 presences, followed by Russia with 6.
  • Alan Mullery of England was the first player in the history of the European Championship to receive a red card; he was sent out of the game in the 86th minute in the game between England and Yugoslavia during the semi-finals in 1968.


Rating: 5.0/5. From 1 vote.
Please wait…