Spanish Primera Division

Spanish Primera Division Review

The Primera Division, commonly known as La Liga (mainly in English speaking countries), is the top professional division of the Spanish football system. It started with 10 teams – two from Madrid, three from Barcelona and the other five were from the northern regions of the country. The first title was won by Barcelona, who beat Real Madrid on the final day of the season.

Bet on La LigaNow La Liga consists of 20 teams and each club is poised to play each other twice for a total of 38 games. The championship begins early September and ends in May or early June, with a very short winter break. The team with the most points wins La Liga, but if the points are equal, there are several rules to find out who the real winner will be: the results from the two games they’ve played against each other, the number of goals and then the Fair Play scale enters. The teams are judged based on yellow or red cards, suspensions and even misconduct of supporters. Bet365 provides you with amazing La Liga betting opportunities – there are dozens of betting types available for each and every match. Get an original bet365 via betting broker and take the advantages of the best odds.

The top three teams go directly into Champions League groups, the fourth one must play a qualification game and the next two go into Europa League. Another peculiarity of the Spanish championship is the “Copa del Rey” competition, inaugurated in 1902. The oldest competition in the Spanish history of football is played in several rounds and includes clubs from all Divisions. Three initial rounds are played over one leg, while after that the two-leg matches are used. The final is almost always scheduled sometime in May and the winners are awarded a cup made entirely of silver, which weighs 15 kg.

Statistics from the Spain Football

Xavi Holding the La Liga TrophyReal Madrid is the most successful club with 33 titles. The most recent club other than Real Madrid and Barcelona to win the league is Atlético Madrid in the 2013–14 season. On the other hand, FC Barcelona is the team with the most wins in Copa del Rey – 25; and they are closely followed by Athletic Club Bilbao with 23 wins. Real Madrid, on the other hand, only managed to win 18 times. Those who follow the best free tips for La Liga, are already familiar with this fact as tipsters like to point out these information on their previews. For those who do not know, while Real Madrid has won the La Liga title a record number of 33 times, while Barcelona only won 22 times.

Real Madrid, Barcelona and Athletic Bilbao are the only teams to own a league trophy. A team has to win three consecutive titles or the counter is reset, and the previous winner has to return the Cup to the Federation.

Statistically speaking, Real Madrid had the most wins within a season – 32 in 2011-2012. Athletic Bilbao is the champion at draws with 577 in all games played, while Atletico Madrid holds the record for most consecutive league games without conceding a goal – 13 games. Barcelona can boast with most consecutive games scoring, with a total of 42, that started February last year and it keeps ongoing.


Spanish Primera Division is considered one of the best leagues to attract investors, with Barcelona having partners like UNICEF, Qatar Foundation, Nike, Estrella Damm, and Audi and, more recently, Qatar Airways as their main shirt sponsor. By signing with Qatar Airways, Barcelona broke their 113-year history of no corporate deals.  Real Madrid almost always had bwin as their main shirt sponsors, and you know bwin offers one of the best La Liga odds on the market. Audi, Coca Cola and Adidas are also among their main sponsors; with Beiersdorf AG signing a four-year agreement with the team to promote Nivea’s skincare brand. Other Spanish clubs have signed deals with: Burger King (Getafe), Bet-at-home (Real Mallorca) and Unesco (Malaga).

La Liga teams may struggle to gain sponsorship deals to benefit them both, but there are still a handful of teams which only have their manufacturer’s logo on their shirts, be it Nike or Adidas. Now that you know almost all about La Liga, it might be time to read our Primera Division predictions for the best games in one of world’s most interesting leagues.

All in all, La Liga is definetely a popular spot for bettors from all around the world. If you also would like to give it a try, we advise you to place your bets on the best betting platform with multiple bookmakers as you will find the best odds with highest limits in this software.

Rating: 5.0/5. From 1 vote.
Please wait…