UEFA Champions League

UEFA Champions League

champions league logoUEFA Champions League is a competition that took place one month after UEFA’s first congress, held in March 1955. Strangely enough, it was not an initiative that came from the European forum itself, but from the French sports daily L’Equipe, which was campaigning for a European club competition that would bring the best clubs from all countries together.

As there weren’t any rules, the journalists invited 15 clubs that they thought had the most fan appeal and their representatives agreed to the guidelines proposed by L’Equipe.

As time passed, the rules changed and only winners of the national leagues were accepted at the competition, but as UEFA was always on the lookout for expanding, they changed altered the rules again to allow even more teams to take part, thus improving the chances for even more excitement during matches. If you are a Champions League fan you should definitely check best betting software for the best odds and limits. With the competition’s new rules becoming effective in 1992, we now have a tournament with three qualifying rounds, a playoff, a group stage and four knockout rounds:

  • Qualifying rounds – based on UEFA coefficients, each country delegates their teams to take part in 3 qualification rounds, at the end of which only 10 teams remain to enter the tournament.
  • Knockout phase – starting with the remaining 16 teams and up until the semi finals, the teams play with the same home/away rules to reach the final.
  • Final – The final is decided in just one game and each year the venue in which it will take place is different and chosen by the association.

Most Succesful Teams in Champions League History

trophyThe most successful clubs in the Champions League are Real Madrid with 9 wins, Milan with 7, Liverpool with 5, as well as Bayern Munich, Barcelona and Ajax Amsterdam with 4 trophies. If we look at the statistics per country, we’ll see that Spain has the most winners with 2 clubs gaining 13 titles each; Italy comes next with 12 winners from 3 clubs and England with 2 winners from five clubs. English teams hit a dark patch in 1985 when all English clubs were banned from all competitions following the Heysel Disaster, where 39 people were killed when a wall collapsed on Juventus fans. This tragedy allowed other small clubs to win a trophy they wouldn’t have otherwise, so you can easily spot teams like Steaua Bucharest, PSV Eindhoven, FC Porto or Red Star Belgrade in the list of winners. However, the beauty of this game allows surprises every year, which means a chance to reach highest odds for surprise picks. If you also would like to bet on Champions League, do not forget to open a betting account via a betting agent to reach the highest odds and limits.

The Champions League is always one of the biggest and colourful events in the world and during its run, it’s a fan favourite when it comes to betting. With our expert tips and helpful predictions, you will always know the best ways you can place a bet, so you can win with your favourite team too. There is no online bookmaker that does not offer Champions League odds. However, according to our observations Pinnacle provides the highest odds. Open a Pinnacle account via betting agent and test it yourself. You will also find a great deal of UEFA Champions League predictions in this blog – follow them and become a champion of betting yourself!

Rating: 5.0/5. From 1 vote.
Please wait…