Grand Slam Tournaments

Grand Slam Tournaments


The four Grand Slam tournaments are also known under the name of Majors. All in all, there are four tournaments which are considered to take the premier place in the world of tennis.

The Majors offer the most ranking points and most luring prize pool. Besides that, the Grand Slam tournaments are held on the best and biggest fields, and attract thousands of tennis fans from all over the world. Not only that, Grand Slam betting is also extremely popular among tennis fans who like a thrill.

winning a grand slam tournament

The tournaments are held separately, each in its time. At first there is the Australian Open in January; it is followed by the French Open in May/June, then comes Wimbledon in June/July, and the last but not the least is the US Open in August/September. Each of the tournaments lasts for two weeks and is played on a specific surface: the US and Australian Tournaments are held on hard courts, Wimbledon on grass, and the French on clay.

Wimbledon is the oldest and most prestigious of the Majors, it is followed by the US Open, the French Open, and the Australian Open. Check the best Grand Slam odds at Betfair!

Historical review

The name of the tournament originates from a family card game, where the “grand slam” means winning all of the tricks. The possibility of being an absolute champion of all the Majors appeared approximately in 1924-1925, when the members of the International Lawn Tennis Federation claimed that the Australian, French, British, and American tournaments are the four Majors. Before it finally happened, there were only three events of utmost importance in the world of tennis: the World Covered Court Championships, the World Hard Court Championships and Wimbledon. It is worth noting that from 1940 to 1945 the four Majors were interrupted because of the Second World War.

The first Grand Slam of all the four Majors was accomplished by Don Budge, who managed to win all the four men’s singles in 1938. By the year 2011 only 14 players have completed the Grand Slam. Rod Laver and Margaret Court are among them.

Chronological list of completed Grand Slams







1938 Don Budge Men’s singles Part of a total of 6 consecutive titles


1951 Ken McGregor & Frank Sedgman Men’s doubles


1953 Maureen Connolly Brinker Women’s singles Part of 6 consecutive titles


1960 Maria Bueno Women’s doubles With Christine Truman Janes and Darlene Hard


1962 Rod Laver Men’s singles


1963 Margaret Court & Ken Fletcher Mixed doubles Part of consecutive titles (Margaret Court 7, Ken Fletcher 6)


1965 Margaret Court Mixed doubles With Roy Emerson, Ken Fletcher and Fred Stolle – part of 5 consecutive titles


1967 Owen Davidson Mixed doubles With Lesley Turner Bowrey and Billie Jean King


1969 Rod Laver Men’s singles Only player to complete the singles’ Grand Slam twice


1970 Margaret Court Women’s singles Six consecutive titles


1983 Stefan Edberg (in junior tennis) Boys’ singles Only Junior to complete a Grand Slam


1984 Martina Navratilova & Pam Shriver Women’s doubles Eight consecutive titles


1988 Steffi Graf Women’s singles Five consecutive titles


1998 Martina Hingis Women’s doubles With Mirjana Lučić and Jana Novotná


2009 Esther Vergeer & Korie Homan Women’s wheelchair doubles Part of 14 consecutive titles for Vergeer with Jiske Griffioen and Maaike Smit


2011 Esther Vergeer & Sharon Walraven Women’s wheelchair doubles Part of consecutive titles (Vergeer 8, Walraven 7)


roger federer